

Press Contact: John Greiner-Ferris, playwrights@bostonpublicworks.org

### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE, PLEASE

# THE ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL, BOSTON PUBLIC WORKS THEATER COMPANY, AND BOSTON PLAYWRIGHTS' THEATRE TO PRESENT

## THE 4<sup>th</sup> ANNUAL BOSTON ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL

## JAN. 3-6 AT BOSTON PLAYWRIGHTS' THEATRE

The One-Minute Play Festival, Boston Public Works Theater Company, and Boston Playwrights' Theatre are pleased to continue their dynamic partnership with the *The 4<sup>th</sup> Annual Boston One-Minute Play Festival*, which will run January 3-6, 2015 at Boston Playwrights' Theatre.

More than 50 established and emerging playwrights from the greater Boston area were commissioned to write plays for this event, reflecting the One-Minute Play Festival's unique commitment to fostering community-specific performances nationwide. In collaboration with Boston Public Works and the Boston Playwrights' Theatre, the #1MPF gives back directly to Boston's rich theater community, promoting inclusivity by featuring as many artists as possible. Proceeds from the event will benefit Boston Public Works, an upstart Boston playwrights' collective that gives its writers creative autonomy in the production of their own works.

## **SCHEDULE and VENUE**

The 4<sup>th</sup> Annual Boston One-Minute Play Festival will be presented over the course of four evenings, featuring two two-night series of plays, curated by #1MPF Artistic Director Dominic D'Andrea. Series A will run January 3 and 4, 2015; Series B will run January 5 and 6, 2015.

All performances are at 8pm, at Boston Playwrights' Theatre, 949 Commonwealth Avenue.



#### **SERIES A**

Series A will feature plays by Barbara Blumenthal-Ehrlich, Eleanor Burgess, Stephen Faria, Peter Floyd, Obehi Janice, Lesley Anne Moreau, Cecelia Raker, David Valdes Greenwood, James Ferguson, Jess Foster, Kirsten Greenidge, Lenelle Moise, Payne Ratner, A. Vincent Ularich, Cliff Odle, Michael Bradford, Shari D. Frost, John Greiner-Ferris, Colleen Hughes, Donna Sorbello, Laura Neubauer, Cassie M Seinuk, Pat Gabridge, Deirdre Girard, Terrence Kidd, Matt Mayerchak, Pete Riesenberg, John Shea, Cliff Blake, Kevin Kordis, Walt McGough, Jack Neary, Lindsay Soson, Christopher Lockheardt, Milourdes (Mimi) Augustin, Ginger Lazarus, and Nina Louise Morrison.

Directors for Series A are: Anna Tractman, Brian Moyer, Cait Robinson, Danielle Leeber, David Marino, James Peter Sotis, and Stephen Faria.

#### SERIES B

Series B will feature plays by Liana Asim, Thom Dunn, Peter Floyd, Deirdre Girard, Obehi Janice, Adara Meyers, MWALIM\*7, Dan Hunter, Kevin Kordis, Kevin Mullins, Karmo Sanders, Cassie M Seinuk, Rosanna Yamagiwa Alfaro, Barbara Blumenthal-Ehrlich, Steven Bogart, Ginger Lazarus, Matt Mayerchak, Adara Meyers, Nina Louise Morrison, Israel Horovitz, Cliff Blake, MJ Halberstadt, Tyler Monroe, Jack Neary, Noah Tobin, David Valdes Greenwood, Debbie Wiess, Christopher Lockheardt, Elisabeth Burdick, Kirsten Greenidge, John Shea, Lindsay Soson, Donna Sorbello, Eleanor Burgess, Walt McGough, James McLindon, and Pete Riesenberg.

Directors for Series B are: Hatem Adell, Hondo Weiss-Richmond, Lindsay Eagle, Nick Hrutkay, Stephanie LeBolt, and Tyler Monroe.

#### **TICKETS**

Tickets are \$20 per each series, and available for purchase at <a href="https://web.ovationtix.com/trs/pr/941817">https://web.ovationtix.com/trs/pr/941817</a> or by calling 866-811-4111.

THE ONE-MINUTE PLAY FESTIVAL (#1MPF), founded by Dominic D'Andrea, is America's largest and longest-running short form theatre company. #1MPF aims to serve as a barometer, taking the pulse of a community and creating a performance of many moments.

#1MPF partners with theatres nationwide that share its playwright-centric, community-based mission, creating locally-sourced community events that feature



playwrights of different ages, genders, races, cultures, and points of their careers. In attempting to reflect local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

#IMPF operates with the goal of giving directly to artists in each community where it works. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, teaching artists working in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, and community arts workshops. Annual partnerships have been created in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, and more.

Partnering institutions include Primary Stages, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Boston Public Works Theater Company, Actor's Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog, Salvage Vanguard, ScriptWorks, ACT, Perseverance Theatre, and others.

Notable #1MPF contributors have included David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen Hartman, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, and nearly 600 playwrights at all stages of their careers.

For more information, visit www.oneminuteplayfestival.com

BOSTON PUBLIC WORKS THEATER COMPANY is a confederation of playwrights founded in 2013 by John Greiner-Ferris and Kevin Mullins in an attempt to change the way new plays are developed and produced in Boston. Over the course of the group's lifetime, each playwright will produce one play, then the group will disband. More importantly, Boston Public Works Theater Company will leave behind a roadmap for other playwrights to follow in an attempt to instruct playwrights in how to self-produce, thereby bringing more new work to the stages of Boston and making Boston a hotbed for new plays in the United States. Boston Public Works Theater Company is composed of the two founders and the invited member playwrights. The playwrights, in order of their productions, are: John Greiner-Ferris Cassie M. Seinuk, Emily Kaye Lazzaro, Jess Foster, Kevin Mullins, Jim Dalglish, and Laura Neubauer. For more information, visit <a href="http://www.bostonpublicworks.org">http://www.bostonpublicworks.org</a>.



BOSTON PLAYWRIGHTS' THEATRE, founded in 1981 at Boston University by Nobel Laureate Derek Walcott, is an award-winning professional theatre dedicated to new works. At the core of their five programs is the Playwriting MFA offered as part of Boston University's prestigious Creative Writing Program. BPF's award-winning alumni have been produced in regional and New York houses as well as in London's West End, and alumni productions have garnered many regional and Boston awards, including regular IRNE and Elliot Norton Awards for "Best New Script." For more information visit: <a href="https://www.bostonplaywrights.org">www.bostonplaywrights.org</a>.

###